Movie Night


My brother and his wife were going out to see a movie. This was going to be their first “date” in nearly a year, and they were leaving their 10-month-old son with me. I didn’t have a whole lot of experience with kids, so I was a little nervous.

“What do I do if he starts crying?” I asked my sister-in-law.

“It probably means he’s just hungry,” she replied. “Try feeding him some vegetables, and that should do the trick.”

She handed me the child and headed out the door with my brother. Right on cue, my little nephew started bawling almost as soon as their car left the driveway. So I figured I’d take her advice and give the vegetables a shot.

As it turns out, jalapeno is not his favorite.

Leave a Reply

