Redistribute the Wealth


Yesterday on my way to lunch at Applebee’s with my wife, I passed one of those homeless guys in the area with a sign that read, “Vote Obama, I need the money!” Once in Applebee’s, my waiter had on an “Obama ’08” tee shirt.
When the bill came, I decided not to tip the waiter and explained to him while he had given my wife and I exceptional service, that his tee shirt made me feel he obviously believes in Senator Obama’s plan to redistribute the wealth, so I told him I was going to redistribute his tip to someone that I deemed more in need — the homeless guy outside.
He stood there in disbelief and angrily stormed away. I went outside, gave the homeless guy $3 and told him to thank the waiter inside, as I had decided he could use the money more than him. The homeless guy looked at me in disbelief, but seemed grateful.
As I got in my car, I realized this rather unscientific redistribution of the wealth experiment had left the homeless guy quite happy for the money he did not earn, but the waiter was pretty angry that I gave away the money he did earn. Well…. I guess this redistribution of wealth thing is going to take a while to catch on with those doing the work.

3 thoughts on “Redistribute the Wealth

  1. Willow says:

    I’ve never been to Applebees, but… I’m guessing that the waiters there are required to wear uniforms, and prohibited from wearing clothing or accessories with political messages on them, such as an Obama T-shirt. Also, this story has been posted on lots of other websites already with different details, so clearly this did not happen to you.

    PS- I am unemployed, and can’t wait to get my hands on your money! You might want to just send it directly to me. WOO HOO! Also, you’re an idiot.

  2. John says:

    For comment number 1…Do you even know what it means to be unemployed? Because I would be willing to bet you don’t understand what the true definition of unemployed is? And I would say your an even bigger idiot for your comment.

Leave a Reply

